The 13th Zodiac Sign: Ophiuchus

meteor shower eraoflightdotcomWhether or not you believe that the position and relationship of the sun, moon, stars, and planets have any bearing on your personality, you probably still know what your astrological sign is.

The zodiac contains 12 constellations and is divided into 12 equal segments. Each astrological sign represents one of the segments. The signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

These are signs that we’re all familiar with, even if we don’t know what each represents. For example, are you caring but moody? An astrologer might peg you to be a Cancer. Are you creative but inflexible? You might be a Leo.

But it’s likely that you’ve never heard of Ophiuchus.
What is Ophiuchus?

The name of this large constellation means “serpent-bearer” in Greek. The ancient astronomer Ptolemy included Ophiuchus in his list of 48 constellations. (It used to be referred to as Serpentarius, which has the same meaning.) It is still one of the 88 modern constellations.

Standard astrological zodiacs do not include Ophiuchus.

However, a few astrologers who use a sidereal zodiac do consider it to be the 13th zodiacal sign. Simply put, the system of tropical astrology, the standard astrology, is tied to Earth’s orientation to the solar system. Whereas, sidereal astrology relates to Earth’s orientation to the galaxy.

The sun travels through the constellation of Ophiuchus for three weeks, from about November 30 through December 18, so it would also be correct to describe it as a constellation of the zodiac, as opposed to a sign.
What personality traits might be linked to Ophiuchus?

Some say those born under this constellation are a mix of Scorpio and Sagittarius, both of which it borders. Others believe an Ophiuchus is curious, passionate, and hungry for knowledge, which might explain why some of you are here searching for this very information.

» Source