Sympathy, Empathy and Compassion

eraoflight blastThe third-dimensional chakras operate as barometers of balance or imbalance. If you know what they do, you will have an opportunity to refocus your attention and begin to realign yourself. All seven major chakras support us, but for most of us, the lower three chakras guide the life we experience.

First chakra: Survival

The first chakra’s job is to keep you safe so that you may fulfill your purpose in this lifetime. If you are threatened and it’s not the exit point of your life, the first chakra overrides everything to keep you safe. It will activate the flight or fight mechanism and cause you to jump back onto the curb before the bus hits you. The first chakra is located at the lowest tip of your spine.

Second chakra: Emotions

The second chakra deals with the lower emotions (neediness, jealousy, resentment, addictions, and grief ) plus sexuality and sensuality. This chakra is located two finger’s width below your navel and back toward the spine.

Third chakra: Power, Control, Judgment, and Resistance

If you find your solar plexus region in pain, it may not be acid indigestion. This chakra is telling you that you are out of balance, in a push-and-shove (power and control) situation. If you are resisting or judging something at a high enough degree, the third chakra area will be blocked and/or in pain.

Together, the lower three chakras support sympathy and empathy. These two third-dimensional reactions are based on past experiences. They tell you where you are in relation to your safety and to fitting in emotionally, as well as in relation to your well-being, and to how you are accepted by others. This is the job of empathy and sympathy.


Empathy is the ability to feel the emotional and physical pain others are experiencing. Many new-age lightworkers take great pride in, and are glamorized by, their ability to feel others’ pain physically. They see it as a useful way to read the energy of others and to heal them. Eventually, by continuing to choose to bring pain into your body, you will damage your health and well-being. Carrying pain will increase your aging process and wear you down.

Empathy is a second chakra, third-dimensional means of determining if the person who stands before you is safe for you to interact with. The second chakra reads the energy of the other person to determine their mood, attitude, emotional/mental stability, and to determine whether being near them is safe. It’s the job of your first chakra, not your second, to keep you and your body safe. Using your second chakra for this job (empathy) becomes a burden and interferes with your well-being and balance.


Sympathy is the internal, third-dimensional, emotional reaction to observing another’s pain. You feel sorry, concerned, sad, worried, and troubled by what they are going through. Sympathy is not feeling their pain in your body; it is a lower second chakra reaction to it, felt within your emotional body. The habit of sympathy will destroy your emotional balance and eventually your physical well-being also.

Neither sympathy nor empathy will benefit your friend in pain. The pain on their path exists for them to leverage for their own greater personal mastery. Nothing you can worry about, feel or take on for them will positively affect their journey.

Compassion, on the other hand, is an upper fourth-dimensional expression. It operates in the present time moment and allows you to neutrally, objectively observe the situation that is before you. It is nonjudgmental. It’s allowing and accepting of things exactly as they are. The act of being in your Higher Mind and surrounded by your Octahedron offers you the ability to be compassionate. Facing your friend who is in pain while you are in this compassionate space, gives you the room to see and offer the wise, helpful information they can benefit from if they choose to.

Conversely, when you are in the third-dimensional reactions of sympathy and empathy it is impossible for you to guide and mentor your friend. Compassion allows you to observe without becoming entangled in the drama, emotional reactions, and physical pain of others. This place of power then enables you to be of greater service. You can assist others to release their unbeneficial patterns, beliefs and habits in greater ways—if they wish to do so.

Reaction versus response

For many, the coming months and years of the Shift will be very confusing and emotional. Those who rely on reactionary patterns of sympathy and empathy to understand or help others will experience a charged, emotional and physical, electromagnetic pull into those people’s feelings, thoughts, and pain. Let us say that again: As the momentum of the Shift continues to increase, if you choose to rely on empathy and sympathy you will find these charged electromagnetic patterns pulling you into the erratic, unfocused, painful feelings, thoughts, and drama of those standing before you.

Most of us can clearly remember where we were and what we were doing when we heard about the events of 9/11. As the event unfolded, two ripples of energy moved around the world:

  • A third-dimensional reaction steeped in fear
  • A fourth-dimensional response that stepped up and asked, “What can I do? How can I help?”

The people in the New York City area first experienced the third-dimensional reaction of fear, followed by the second response, which moved many into a fourth-dimensional vibration of compassion, which involved no thinking and no conditions. Some friends of ours hung their landline phone out the window so others might call home and offered their bathroom to the firefighters. All that mattered was that well-being is brought back into balance. Communities joined together to serve and assist. Others around the world were also affected by these events. Many who were not even directly involved felt empathy and sympathy and chose to feel physical and emotional discomfort, which also included fear, tears, and worry. Many others chose compassion, and in their own way stepped up to help. How did you respond at the time?

Both reacting and responding are very available choices during this time of Shift. You have this choice every moment. Remembering and using your tools to stay focused, observant, clear, and purposeful will allow you to hold a vibrational tone that keeps you well above the reactions of the lower three chakras and out of the third-dimensional fear.

Excerpt from the Kindle book: What Do You Mean the Third Dimension is Going Away?